Launched in 2011, Google+ has been anticipated to be the organization’s response to Facebook using a range of similar capabilities. But, it did not gain much traction through recent years. Even though Google+ will stop to exist in April 2, 2019, the firm now says it’s going to begin eliminating a few of the attributes as early as February 4. Google has summarized the deadline when and which attributes will be taken offline and the way Google+ users may download their information.
On a brand new service page submitted on Monday, Google states from February 4 it will quit enabling users create brand new Google+ profiles, pages, events or communities.
Google will delete all of user data. In the event you archived videos and photos from Google+, then they will be deleted also. In the event you’ve got a good deal of info resting on Google+ servers, then be sure to download and store it nicely before April 2.
But, Google asserts the process of deleting consumer Google+ info are going to take a few months. Content posted on Google+ will stay visible throughout this time. The business says users might nonetheless have the ability to see activity logs and a few customer Google+ articles might also be observable through G Suite.
On the brand new service page, Google still asserts the company had made a decision to kill Google+ because of reduced use and”challenges involved with keeping a successful product.” But a bug was found a year which exposed user information of 500,000 users. Google still maintains no programmer had exploited the vulnerability and the firm has not been able to locate any abuse of this information.